| Trophy-less Kaizer Chiefs ditch awards ceremony

Johannesburg – Kaizer Chiefs have scrapped their end-of-season awards function for the first time after a disastrous 2017/2018 campaign.

The Soweto club failed to win any of the four league and cup competitions that comprise the season in the republic.

It was the third consecutive season in which Chiefs, formed in 1970 and the most popular and successful South African football club, have failed to lift a trophy.

“Our decision to scrap the awards ceremony was influenced by displeasure with the performances of the team,” explained club chairman and former Chiefs star Kaizer Motaung.

“This season was marked by unusual events, one of which was seeing the club go a third year without lifting a major trophy.”

Coach Steve Komphela, whose three-year reign coincided with the trophy-less spell, quit last month after a Nedbank Cup semi-loss defeat triggered crowd violence.

His predecessor, England-born Stuart Baxter, won two league titles in three seasons and now coaches the South African national team.

Malawian Patrick Mabedi was named caretaker coach and former Chelsea and West Ham United manager Avram Grant is among those linked with the position.

The only bright spot for Chiefs was qualification for the 2019 CAF Confederation Cup after finishing third in the league behind champions Mamelodi Sundowns and Orlando Pirates.

Related posts

Leave a Comment